On Reading (and Writing)

“If you don’t have the time to read, you don’t have the time or the tools to write.”    
                                                                                 -Stephen King (On Writing)


It was one night about two weeks ago when my best friend back in college and I had a brief online exchange of thoughts.  We were talking about planning our retirement careers, not that we are at that age, but it’s never too early to map out what we wanted to do for the rest of our lives. She told me I had a knack for writing and I just need to explore and develop whatever was left of my writing skills.
Another friend once told me that if I wanted to write more, I should start by reading more often. My favorite writer even said the same words, which I found on the inner jacket of his book I got from that  place in Baltimore City called the “Book Thing.” It is a wonderfully dangerous place for book lovers like me because one could get lost in the dusty shelves of second-hand books given away for free. Last year, I brought home three balikbayan boxes of books now scattered around my house, staring idly at me,  waiting to be read.
I guiltily stare at the hard-bound books I collected through the years, thinking mine is a case of “too many books, too little time.” But then I think again. I need to balance my time by spending it on things I want to do more and things I have to do.  So, read and write I will.




Leave a Reply

